Home >> Types of Navratri

Types of Navratri

Navratri......the nine holy nights comes 5 times in a year. April Navrati and Oct navratri are most famous. These navratri are named as per name of hindi lunar Hindu month These are-

1. Basanta Navrati or Vasanta Navaratri is also called as Chaitra Navatri and is one of the two most recognised Navratris in a year. Rama Navratri is the festival of nine days dedicated to the nine forms of Shakti in spring (March–April).

On 9th day os this navrati is Ramnavami, birthday of God Rama.

2. Gupt Nav ratri: This Navratri comes in June-July. According to Hindu month-Ashadha so it is called Ashadha Navratri or Shakambhari Navratri. Ashadha Navratri falls in Shukla Paksha or waxing phase of moon in June-July.

3. Sharana Nav ratri: Maha Navratri is the second most recognized Navratri, celebrated in Ashwin month. It is also known as Sharadeeya Navratri and falls in September-October i.e. during Sharad.

at the end of this Navrati is Dusshera

4. Poushya Nav ratri: Poushya Navratri is in December–January. The Shukla Paksha of Poushya starts this Navaratri.

5. Magha Nav ratri: Magha Na ratri is also a kind of Gupt Navratri. The waxing phase of moon in January–February marks the beginning of Magha Navaratri.

Navratri puja

The nine days of Navratri is observed with great reverence. Chaitra Navratri and Sharadeeya Navratri are the important days to feel the celestial energies to our souls. Lord Vishnu is worshipped with full devotion in Vasant Navratri while in Sharadeeya Navratri Durga Ma is praised.

The eighth day of Sharadeeya Navratri is believed to be the birth day of Ma Durga. So, eighth day puja is very important. When the puja is performed with systematic procedure as we are describing here will definitely purify your soul and by mother's grace all your wishes get fulfilled.

Tradition of feeding and pujan of little girls or kanya is being performed for years on 8th or 9th day of Navratri.

Essential items for puja